The South Queensland Sharks have claimed a seventh-straight title in a rain-soaked final day at the Queensland Junior State Championships.

Following heavy downpours overnight and across the morning, the finals format was changed with semi-finals and grand finals shortened to 25 minutes, and a number of fields were closed at the Whites Hill Sports Complex.

Despite the poor playing conditions, the state’s best junior players turned on some brilliant performances and nail-biting results.

Host region Brisbane Cobras claimed a clean-sweep over the Sharks in the Under 12 division, with a 3-1 win in the Girls and 4-3 in the Boys.

The Sharks hit back in the Under 14 Girls with a 4-3 win over the Cobras, while the CQ Bulls remained undefeated in the Under 14 Boys, defeating the Cobras 5-2.

The Under 16 Girls grand final had the crowd on the edge of their seats, with the Sharks edging out the SWQ Swans with a last-minute 4-3 win.

The Cyclones claimed the Under 16 Boys title with a 3-2 win over the Bulls.

The Sharks (42) won the Shuker-Williams Trophy for Champion Region by the narrowest of margins, just two points clear of the Cobras (40).

The Under 12 Boys and Girls Merit Teams were announced at the completion of the tournament, and are listed below.

Junior Cowboys, Junior Broncos and Junior Titans development teams in the Under 14 and 16 age groups will be named this week.

Teams are selected from within the boundaries of the existing NRL Touch Premiership permits – Cowboys from North and Central Queensland, Broncos from Sunshine Coast and Brisbane, and Titans from South West Queensland and South Queensland and Border Districts.

The selected players will be invited to attend a camp on the Sunshine Coast on March 22-24.

Full results and players of the final and tournament are listed below.



Under 12 Girls
Cobras 3 d Sharks 1
Player of the Final: Kaydynce Hohaia Katene (Cobras)
Player of the Tournament: Kaydynce Hohaia Katene (Cobras)

Under 12 Boys
Cobras 4 d Sharks 3
Player of the Final: Kayliss Brown (Cobras)
Player of the Tournament: Kayliss Brown (Cobras)

Under 14 Girls
Sharks 4 d Cobras 3
Player of the Final: Maya Sheil (Sharks)
Player of the Tournament: Tayla Sykes (Cobras)

Under 14 Boys
Bulls 5 d Cobras 2
Player of the Final: Jardel Bob (Bulls)
Player of the Tournament: Jardel Bob (Bulls)

Under 16 Girls
Sharks 4 d Swans 3
Player of the Final: Shatalii Mooney-Stack (Sharks)
Player of the Tournament: Emmy Paki (Bulls)

Under 16 Boys
Cyclones 3 d Bulls 2
Player of the Final: Shameus Edwards (Cyclones)
Player of the Tournament: Patrick Crow (Bulls)

Shuker-Williams Trophy – Champion Region
SQBD Sharks – 42 points
Brisbane City Cobras – 40 points
CQ Bulls – 37 points

Under 12 Girls Merit Team
Kaydynce Hohaia Katene, Natalea Elias (Cobras)
Ella Searston, Abbie Smith (Sharks)
Lilla Pratt, Olivia Jenkins (Bulls)
Alla Christensen, Lilly Stubbins (Pineapples)
Abbey Wardle, Sophie Bender (Swans)
Zoe McCarron, Trista Lyon (Cyclones)

Under 12 Boys Merit Team
Kayliss Brown, Mason Glover (Cobras)
Kaea Murray, Jack Rasmussen (Sharks)
Curtis Seierup, Cooper Broadhurst (Bulls)
Sam Watson, Kane Hammermeister (Pineapples)
Tyler Madden, Bailey Deakin (Swans)
Cameron Kolb, Logan Pott (Cyclones)

Unite. Inspire. Grow.

Forward Thinking | Stronger Together | Leading with Humility | Passionately Proud | Fostering Fun


Sign up to our newsletter & receive updates directly to your inbox.