Icons of the game took centre stage last night at the 2023 Queensland Touch Football Awards, with the Gold Coast event celebrating the achievements and exceptional contributions of the touch community over the past 12 months.

Immediately following the record breaking 2023 Queensland State Cup, the annual Awards, held at the RACV Royal Pines Resort, recognised those who have gone above and beyond to contribute to Touch Football’s growth, development and success.

Queensland Touch Football CEO Greg Denny said the evening was a fantastic celebration of the state Touch community.

“The Queensland Touch Football Awards are always an amazing way to bring our community together and celebrate the best of our sport, and this year’s event was no exception,” said Denny.

“On behalf of Queensland Touch Football I extend a heartfelt congratulations to all of our winners, our sport would not be what it is without you.”

UQ Rebels athlete Tiarni Bryce was named as Open Player of the Year – Female, following a stellar season that saw her win the 2022 Queensland State Cup, 2022 Metro Cup and 2023 NTL with the SQ Sharks. Meanwhile, Rockhampton’s Harry Griffin was named as Open Player of the Year – Male

Bundaberg Touch Association was named as the Small/Medium Affiliate of the Year. Redlands Touch Association was named as Large Affiliate of the Year.

Redlands Touch Association President Jason Hemson said: “We’ve got a fantastic group of volunteers who really strive every day to make Redlands Touch better for our community.

“Thank you to Queensland Touch for the recognition and for the Award tonight,” Hemson said.

Dave Field from Bundaberg Touch association was named as Volunteer of the Year for his consistent and ongoing efforts, selflessly giving up hours of his time and leadership to help further touch football in central Queensland.

“This award stunned me a little bit, but I’m so proud,” Field said.

“For those that know me, I don’t do this for recognition…I love the sport and I just love to contribute and give back to the sport.

“Whether that’s trying to help develop players, coaches, referees or administrators, I’m happy to contribute my time,” he said.

Similarly, Therese Gordon from Hounds Graceville Touch Football was named as Administrator of the Year for her tireless efforts to boost the participation, membership and community programs in metropolitan Brisbane.

Brisbane Metro Touch Association’s Campbell Muir was named the Rick Borg Referee of the Year.

“This is certainly a great honour. Looking at the people who have won this award in the past…Rick Borg who the award is named after, and also the previous winners as well, it’s pretty special to be held in that esteem of referee,” Muir said.


2023 Queensland Touch Football Award Winners

  • Volunteer of the Year – Dave Field (Bundaberg Touch Association)
  • Administrator of the Year – Therese Gordon (Hounds Graceville Touch Association)
  • Large Affiliate of the Year – Redlands Touch Association
  • Small/Medium Affiliate of the Year – Bundaberg Touch Association
  • Junior Affiliate Coach of the Year – Troy Skinner (Gold Coast Touch Association)
  • Affiliate Coach of the Year – Gary Benbow (Rockhampton Touch Football)
  • Elite Coach of the Year – Renee Murphy
  • Junior Referee of the Year – Isabel Watt (Gladstone Junior Touch Association)
  • Referee of the Year – Campbell Muir (Brisbane Metropolitan Touch Association)
  • Community Program of the Year – CQ Country Cup (Callide Valley Touch Association)
  • Touch Football School of the Year – Beenleigh State High School
  • Inclusion in Touch Football – Youth In Touch (Bundaberg Touch Association)
  • Junior Representative Team of the Year – SQBD Sharks 16 Girls
  • Representative Team of the Year – CQ Bulls Open men
  • Open Player of the Year – Female – Tiarni Bryce (UQ Rebels Touch Football Association)
  • Open Player of the Year – Male – Harry Griffin (Rockhampton Touch Association)
  • Senior Player of the Year – Female – Jenna Rowsell (Brisbane Metropolitan Touch Association)
  • Senior Player of the Year – Male – Leon Skinner (Gold Coast Touch Association)
  • Junior Player of the Year – Female – Rhani Hagan (Brisbane Metropolitan Touch Association)
  • Junior Player of the Year – Male – Blaise Prendergast (Toowoomba Touch Association)
  • Queensland Touch Football Service Award – Scott MacAllister


Unite. Inspire. Grow.

Forward Thinking | Stronger Together | Leading with Humility | Passionately Proud | Fostering Fun


Sign up to our newsletter & receive updates directly to your inbox.